GP01 Gundam “Zephyranthes” Full Burner WIP 5

Little work was done last week so I didn’t bother posting any WIP, only the armor for the arms was painted and most seamlines removed. Picked up the pace last night and got into a painting blitz..

The weather wasn’t cooperating, it was really windy and the temperatures made the matte topcoat frost.. Could only topcoat some parts (don’t mind the beam sabers ^^,)

Aside from applying the decals here’s the rest of the gundam that still needs to be painted, still undecided if I would remove the seamline from the GP01’s head..

Sure I’ve remove many seamlines already but I’m still a bit iffy when it comes to modifiying the head xD

P.S. For those that was waiting for my mods I’m very sorry but I’m dropping it, I found out that a complete overhaul of the joints is needed to really drastically articulate this kit..

Modifying the armors/inner frame could add so little articulation xD

8 Responses to “GP01 Gundam “Zephyranthes” Full Burner WIP 5”


  1. 1 shinra1003 January 23, 2010 at 7:13 PM

    Looking good! How do you attach the parts to the toothpicks, tape?

    • 2 Arein January 23, 2010 at 7:40 PM

      Usually I’d stick the toothpick inside the holes where the pegs usually goes to, would shave it off or add thickness (wrapping it with scotch tape) depending on how big the hole is..

      If there’s no hole I’d look for any crevice that I can stick the toothpick into.. Anything will do as long as its rock solid and won’t fall off.

      Finally I’d use some blu-tack if I can’t use the techniques mentioned previously..

  2. 3 rockleelotus January 24, 2010 at 12:26 AM

    removing seam lines is a lot of work, sanding is no fun lol how would you go about removing the frost effect from the topcoat?

    since its an older kit i would see how tons of mod work would be need XD messing around with the joints is major work.

    • 4 Arein January 24, 2010 at 12:33 AM

      Sanding it off would do the job, would use higher grit ones when it’s painted.. Or in rare cases I would just apply another coating of topcoat and it would solve the problem by itself.

      Yeah the mod work feels like I’d be scratch building a lot xD

  3. 5 ant1ph0n January 24, 2010 at 3:03 AM

    sounds like lots of work. looking good nonetheless.

  4. 6 ArckhaM January 25, 2010 at 1:16 PM

    Sweet work. First UC I watched. Stardust. Hehehe. Keep on it!

  5. 7 heathorn January 28, 2010 at 11:36 AM

    frost is annoying, haha
    Vote for head seamline removal.

    Btw I like the styrofoam :D

    • 8 Arein January 29, 2010 at 10:10 AM

      Still undecided what to do with it after all this time, it does look like a panel line rather than a seamline.. xD

      And don’t we all use styrofoams? :3


Leave a Reply

