GP01 Gundam “Zephyranthes” Full Burner WIP 2

I’m starting to really like this one after building the torso and the skirt. Unlike the core fighter, building the other parts was quite a breeze. Too bad the torso doesn’t have an inner frame.

The design is like 18 years old but it still looks so damn good. Credit goes to the mecha designer Shōji Kawamori.

Did I say that I really like the design of this mecha? :3 Even though this is based from the RX-78-2 it doesn’t remotely resemble it.. Yes that’s a good thing. Also some might notice the ‘mold flash’ on the v fin..

Not really liking the plain large ass verniers at the moment. Don’t get me wrong though.. I absolutely love the GP02 “Physalis” and even the larger Virtue/Seravee Gundam.

8 Responses to “GP01 Gundam “Zephyranthes” Full Burner WIP 2”


  1. 1 shinra1003 January 2, 2010 at 6:15 PM

    Looking good, nice progress. What are going to do about the eyes? Are you going to paint the V emblem on the chest or do any panel lining. You will probably do that latter. I’m just wondering at what step, as I find it easiest for me to panel line the parts before assembly.

    • 2 Arein January 2, 2010 at 6:53 PM

      Will use stickers for the eyes.. Still not sure on what to do with the v part. Might mask the sides off and paint it or just panel lines. Depends on what I’m feeling during the time I’d be working on it agaain..

      I’m gonna paint the whole kit, panel lining after the assembly of each part after the paintjob (ie. head, torso and so on).

      • 3 shinra1003 January 2, 2010 at 7:43 PM

        Are you going to choose a different paint scheme, or use the colors. If you choose the same, why bother painting it? I’m curious if there any advantages. What do you panel line with after painting?

        • 4 Arein January 2, 2010 at 9:30 PM

          I paint with the same colors but different hue.. Just look at what I did with the Zaku II. No real advantages except you’d be painting it in another hue that you prefer.

          I just use my regular graphic pen that I bought off from the local school/office supplies store (after coating the painted parts in a layer of topcoat).

  2. 5 necrophadian January 3, 2010 at 8:33 AM

    man that kit is really ripe for adding after market parts. look at all those verniers and boosters

    • 6 Arein January 3, 2010 at 1:17 PM

      Yeah lots of ’em.. Though I’ll just prolly paint ’em in gold. Those after market parts aren’t that readily available here.. xD

  3. 7 rockleelotus January 4, 2010 at 4:24 AM

    nice progress, are you going to sharpen the V fins? i think spraying it in a different hue adds a nice touch by getting rid of the plastic look and color. do the chest vents actually open up or are they a separate mold piece?

    im surprised how some of the old designs are still so bad ass even today too. those designers really know what their doing.

    • 8 Arein January 4, 2010 at 8:52 AM

      Not sure if I’d sharpen them though I’d definitely sand them down, has so much ‘mold flash’.. xD

      There’s always matte topcoat for getting rid of the plastic shine though I definitely hate the hue of this guy’s colors. I’d be painting this one on a different colors =D

      Nah they come on different pieces though the PG counterpart of this guy has that gimmick.

      Couldn’t expect less from Shōji Kawamori.. That guy’s a genius. :3


Leave a comment




Categories