GP01 Gundam “Zephyranthes” Full Burner WIP 1

The instant I opened the box there’s this odd feeling that I felt. I can’t put my finger on it but it became clear once I started building this thing.

It certainly is showing it’s age! From the font on the frames, the color and feel of the plastic parts, even downright to the manuals. It feels way way different than any of my previously built gunplas (Astraea, Zaku II, RX-178 Mk-II). It provides an interesting experience though, so this is what gunpla was like a decade back huh..

Since this was an old kit I thought that it’s gonna be a walk in a park building it, boy was I wrong.. Spent about three hours on this thing and I’ve only built the core fighter and the torso is halfway done. xD

Forgive my ignorance but I didn’t know that a core fighter is this complicated, the thing has lots of parts.

I’m surprised to actually see some flash on the torso.. No biggie though, could be easily cut by an x-acto knife then sanded off..

6 Responses to “GP01 Gundam “Zephyranthes” Full Burner WIP 1”


  1. 1 rockleelotus January 2, 2010 at 9:45 AM

    i havent opened my MG Gouf Custom but i wonder if i will get the same feeling, since its a pretty old kit too. i like this core fighter designed though, very unique with its side thrusters.

    • 2 Arein January 2, 2010 at 11:27 AM

      Not as old as this one.. Lol

      Why didn’t you go for the Gouf 2.0? This is the first ever core fighter for me.. Yeah really liking it :3 Though I prefer the non FB one.

      • 3 rockleelotus January 2, 2010 at 2:03 PM

        lol true that. ive never built a core fighter myself, but might get the MG GP03 after ive built all my current kits.

        im actually not a fan of the regular Gouf. the 2.0 has a lot more perks being a new kit, but i prefer the small changes in design of Gouf Custom. also im a fan of Norris, he is just bad ass. cant go wrong with his weaponry too :D

      • 4 Arein January 2, 2010 at 2:45 PM

        I’m also getting the GP03 whenever..

        Forgot about that, I’m somewhat torn what to get.. The Norris Custom or the 2.0 xD Gotta love the minigun and Norris’ character. :3

  2. 5 shinra1003 January 2, 2010 at 3:51 PM

    I know what you mean about the old kit vibe. I’m so used to new, improved, kits, that they’re a little disappointing. They require a little more work, but I suppose that’s good (more practicing hobby skills!). WIP shots look good, maybe I’ll start on my GP03S when I get home.

    • 6 Arein January 2, 2010 at 4:00 PM

      Yeah.. What better way to improve your plamo building skills, build some old kits and try to make it look as good as the newer ones.


Leave a Reply

